Summer Institute 

Summer Institute is designed for secondary school counselors and college admission counselors with two or fewer years of experience. The integrated program fosters a deeper understanding of the interaction between secondary school counselors and admission counselors, as well as expert insight into the current trends and issues within the profession. Participants will benefit from the opportunity to connect and interact with experienced faculty members from high schools and colleges from throughout New England. Through small mentor group discussions, program-specific curriculum tracks for secondary school counselors and admissions counselors, and workshops and group presentations, participants will learn about job responsibilities, communication in the admission/counseling process, recruitment/travel, ethical issues in admissions, financial aid, standardized testing, and advancing through the profession. Networking, through both formal and informal gatherings, is another critical component of the Summer Institute experience.

Summer Institute 2019

Location & Dates

Bentley University in Waltham, Massachusetts

July 18-21, 2022

See the 2021 schedule here (please note: the 2021 Summer Institute took place in a virtual format)


More information coming soon!

Scholarship Opportunities 2022

More information coming soon!

2022 Faculty Members

Faculty members and guest speakers will include a dynamic collection of experienced college counseling and admission professionals from throughout New England.


Chair: Tim Cushing, Brewster Academy, NH
Chair-elect: Katie Phung, Bryant University, RI


Owen Bligh, Providence College 
Henry DelAngelo, Joel Barlow High School
Christopher Gray, Lasell University 
Mandy Hart, Amherst College
Brenna Kelly, Brooks School
Courtney Kipp, Greenwich Country Day School
Carolynn Laurenza, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Ariel Leitao Leonelli, MIT
Aya AL-Namee, Suffolk University
Daisy Ogunedo, Stonehill College
Jack O'Keefe, Catholic Memorial High School
Aaron Ribaudo-Smith, Newburyport High School
Amy Rogers, Miss Porter's School
Emily Roper-Doten, Olin College
Sharon Veatch, Housatonic Valley Regional High School


 Summer Institute Faculty 2019

Questions? Please contact Christina Doyle, NEACAC Executive Director.