The IDEA Committee

Mission Statement:

The IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Education, and Access) Committee provides leadership to ensure that issues of cultural and ethnic diversity remain at the forefront in the thoughts and actions of NEACAC members and the greater educational community. Seeking to be the voice of diversity in all of its many forms within the NEACAC organization, the IDEA committee works hard to ensure that underrepresented people, both within the membership and in the college-bound population with whom we work, have voices that are heard by the larger membership. The IDEA Committee strives to be a catalyst - heightening awareness, consciousness and sensitivity to the issues of culture, ethnicity, socio-economic status, human rights, gender, sexual orientation, age and other differences. The IDEA Committee serves as the communicator, spokesperson and advocate for personal and cultural issues affecting our profession, and the health and wellness of our membership.

Anti-Racism Resources Available for NEACAC Members

Over the course of the last few weeks, many of us have joined in deeper conversation about systemic racism in this country. Practicing anti-racism work requires a set of skills that must be continually built upon. Answering the call to action put forth by IDEA Committee Chair, Sharonda Dailey, the committee compiled an Anti-Racism Resource document for our members.  The resources included represent a wide range of sources for our members to explore and build upon their commitment to learning and growth. This is a "living" document that we will update periodically.


     Sharonda Dailey - Chair
     Wheeler School
     [email protected]





Committee Members:

Eliza Etter, University of Rhode Island
Amanda Flores, Southern New Hampshire University
Ariana Greco, Emmanuel College
Josselyn Guzman, Northern Essex Community College
Kate Henchy, University of South Carolina
Kashema Jennings, East Granby High School
Kyler Jesanis, Roger Williams University
Josh Kellogg, University of New Hampshire
Brenna Kelly, Worcester Academy
Courtney Kipp, Northeastern University
Brooke Libby, Gould Academy
Jobita Mao, Salem State University
Moira McKinnon, Berwick Academy
Abby Meachem, Stonehill College
Adaeze Ogunedo, University of Massachusetts - Lowell
Ryan Patten, Plymouth State University
Katie Phung, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Ali Rogers, Northeastern University
Matthew Rosen, Naugatuck High School
Chizu Shiono, Dynamy Internship Year
Jami Silver, Kingswood Oxford School
Katie Storer, Bryant University
Jed Stuart, Loomis Chaffee School
Rachael Tampone, Merrimack College
Nicole Villacrés-Reyes, Bates College
Danielle Walsh, Stonehill College 

NEACAC College Access and Success Listserv (CASL)

The NEACAC College Access and Success Listserv (CASL) provides a single platform to share information and ideas with other professionals working with students in the New England region on the college search and application process. For more information, or to join the Listserv, please click here. 

Annual Meeting & Conference Session Proposal Sub-Committee


Katie Phung - Chair
Bryant University
[email protected]



The Annual Meeting & Conference Session Proposal sub-committee sponsors sessions at the Annual Meeting & Conference that focus on issues of inclusion, diversity, equity, and access. Committee members brainstorm session ideas, recruit speakers for sessions, and submit proposals for approval by the Annual Meeting & Conference committee.

College Corps. New England


             Kaitlyn April – Co-Chair
             Emmanuel College
             [email protected]



Tricia Culver – Co-Chair
Lasell College
[email protected]

With the guidance and counseling of professional mentors, rising high school juniors and seniors will learn all about the aspects of the college search and application process. They will also experience campus life by living in student residence halls, begin to understand the ins and outs of financial aid, participate in leadership and networking opportunities, and most of all, have fun! At the end of CCNE, we expect that the students will be equipped with the tools to navigate the college application process. And best of all, there is no cost to students to attend this amazing program!  
There are no scheduled dates for this program at this time. 

Essay Writing Contest Sub-Committee


                                                 Moira McKinnon - Co-chair
                                                 Berwick Academy
                                                 [email protected]

Each year, high school juniors and seniors from NEACAC-member high schools in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont are invited to submit a 500-word essay on a chosen topic. A panel of NEACAC members judges the essays based on originality, creativity, focus, clarity, and structure. Six winners—one from each of the six New England states— are awarded a $1,000 scholarship and receive recognition at an awards ceremony during the Association’s Annual Meeting & Conference and have their names published in the NEACAC Newsletter. 

Make a Difference Fund Sub-Committee

   Dustin Hunter - Chair
   Ithaca College
   [email protected]

The purpose of the Make a Difference Fund is to provide monetary support for: Innovative pilot programs, ideas or services, and other professional development opportunities that benefit NEACAC members and the constituents they serve, matching grants to attend NACAC or NEACAC conferences, as well as other professional development workshops.

Sub-committee members review grant applications and select recipients.

Margaret Addis Memorial Scholar Program Sub-Committee

Josh Kellogg
Josh Kellogg
University of New Hampshire


The Margaret Addis Memorial Scholar Program fund enables secondary school counselors from underrepresented areas to attend our Annual Meeting and Conference. "Underrepresented Areas" are defined as rural or urban secondary schools, EOP/TRIO programs and agencies and community/technical colleges in New England. To qualify, candidates should work in settings adversely impacted by budget cuts or limitations, and as such, can not afford the cost of NEACAC membership or attendance to the Annual Meeting & Conference. Sub-committee members review scholarship applications and select recipients.